AUTOMATIC OR MANUAL TRANSMISSION?

Diesel Power
Item Posts    Sort Order

AUTOMATIC OR MANUAL TRANSMISSION?

BAMABUDFAN BAMABUDFAN
New User | Posts: 2 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/06/09
09:59 PM

I AM new to diesel trucks but within next 6 months plan on buying truck and 38+ foot 5th wheel rv/toyhauler and want something that will pull without trans/ engine problems right off the bat any problems with the auto or manual transmission for long term towing i need to consider/ thanks  

brokendiesel brokendiesel
New User | Posts: 21 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/06/09
10:07 PM

What years are you looking at?  

BAMABUDFAN BAMABUDFAN
New User | Posts: 2 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/07/09
11:46 AM

2007-2010  Dodge 3500 if nessasary or 2500  

brokendiesel brokendiesel
New User | Posts: 21 | Joined: 12/09
12:51 PM

If it were me I would go with the manual because i prefer 3 pedals to 2 but in reality its all personal preference. The auto and the manual can both be built to handle serious power.I have two friends, one has an 6 speed 07 and one has an auto 08. Both of them love their truck the way it is and constantly argue which setup is better. As for years, try to go for a none dpf model if you can, I have heard they are having a lot of engine problems, I believe they especially like to eat turbos. I know my friend who has the 08 has only 4000 miles on the truck and has already had it to the dealership to replace the dpf, cat, turbo and egr system all under warranty of coarse. My last suggestion would be if its going to be a daily drive go with a single rear wheel and if its a dedicated tow rig then get a dually which is a serious tow rig. But in reality, get what ever you want, its your truck, you'll be driving it.  

01 24 valve 01 24 valve
Enthusiast | Posts: 317 | Joined: 11/09
02:29 PM