Ad Radar
Diesel Power
Mobile Icon BtnMobile Icon Btn RO
Newsletter

MPG on a 6.0L powerstroke F350

  
Diesel Power
1 |  2 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

MPG on a 6.0L powerstroke F350

 
Timothy10366 Timothy10366
New User | Posts: 7 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/11/09
02:33 PM

I am stumped > I have a 2004 F350 Super Duty Crew Cab Long box 4x4 Dually. I have added a power pup with outlook monitor. I usual run it on stock.  A MBRP 4" turbo back with cat delete.  I also have a airraid filter stock box with cut out behind the grill.  On a good day I can only get 13.4mpg, when hauling my truck camper which comes in at 4300lbs., I only get 8 mpg.  I have talk to other powerstroke owners who say that is not good!!! I have new tires, new pro comp. shocks, new brakes all the way around. New upper and lower ball joints and new front axle u-joints. I have leveled the front, the truck has 52,000 miles, Synthetics are all I run. Amsoil Oil also!  I grease it regularly.  Any suggestions????? Confused  

Ekcombs Ekcombs
New User | Posts: 7 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/13/09
11:54 PM

i had the same problem in my 6.0 350 all i did was change the fuel fliter and i got a second in line fule pump and fuel fliter and so i started geting 18 to 20 mpg it may help you out. and when i was hualing a 37 foot camper it was makeing 13 to 16 mpg hope it will help  

Timothy10366 Timothy10366
New User | Posts: 7 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/16/09
05:23 PM

Thanks brother...the fuel filter is new.  So if I put on a inline fuel pump it will help.  I was considering an airdogfuel air seperator.  I wonder if that would do the same thing? Thanks anyways for your reply  

Ekcombs Ekcombs
New User | Posts: 7 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/21/09
12:51 AM

I bet it will  and no prob
Cool  

excursion1 excursion1
New User | Posts: 6 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/31/09
07:35 AM

I would get rid of the POWER PUP and go with the EDGE Juice with Platium with the new CST monitor. I have the EDGE in my 04 excursion 6.0L and I am getting 18.7 to 20.1 around my town which has a lot of hills and speed changes. I towed a 97 blazer from coudersport, pa to pottsville, pa and I was still getting 18 and higher. I have 3.73 gears and 5 speed auto trans. The EDGE has been my only mod so far but planning to get a cold air intake kit and a 3.5 CFM intake which I am hoping with get me to 26 or 28 mpg on the highway and 22 to 24 in town.  

05wh250 05wh250
New User | Posts: 7 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/31/09
02:44 PM

wat kind of in line fuel pump did you add? i was wanting to add one to my 6.0 to see if it helped my mileage any.  

theSLEEPER. theSLEEPER.
Guru | Posts: 1748 | Joined: 04/08
Posted: 01/01/10
03:52 PM

I would dump the Power Pup, not consider the EDGE, and get a SCT with an ecomomy tow tune.

Also, you need to be watching for boost leaks. They're hard to spot and will KILL your mileage and power. Good luck.  
DIESEL INNOVATIONS

Call me for all your performance part needs!

228-365-Zero Six Nine Eight!

6 Position Custom Tuned Chips!! $320 shipped!  
SCT X4's for your 6.0!! Call me for details!

excursion1 excursion1
New User | Posts: 6 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 01/03/10
07:27 AM

sleeper444 why would you not consider the EDGE?  

powerstroke_spanky powerstroke_spanky
New User | Posts: 10 | Joined: 01/10
Posted: 01/03/10
06:40 PM

sorry for jumping in Confused  

theSLEEPER. theSLEEPER.
Guru | Posts: 1748 | Joined: 04/08
Posted: 01/04/10
05:09 AM

Icon Quoteexcursion1:
sleeper444 why would you not consider the EDGE?

Because, honestly. I don't trust tunes that are that "general". The trans tuning, the cylinder pressures. Sorry, but I wouldn't run ANY tuner on a stockish 6.0 that wasnt set up with some tunes that were built to not stretch the head bolts. Nothing is "safe" on a 6.0, but you gotta try to fit in the safety as much as you can.  
DIESEL INNOVATIONS

Call me for all your performance part needs!

228-365-Zero Six Nine Eight!

6 Position Custom Tuned Chips!! $320 shipped!  
SCT X4's for your 6.0!! Call me for details!

Timothy10366 Timothy10366
New User | Posts: 7 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 01/27/10
06:08 AM

Thanks Sleeper,  New problem NOW. I was running the Interstate and kicked it up to 100% on the outlook monitor which equates to 60hp.  Shortly there after the check gage light came on and tow/haul mode is flashing. transmissioin doesn't want to shift, almost like it is stuck in tow haul mode ?  It seems to only do it when the programmer is set on any setting except stock.  I have gotten many different suggestions, one its a tranny sylenoid.  Others say tranny is bad.  That could explain the fuel mileage problem also.  I have an appt with one of the best powerstroke mechanics in Metro Detroit.  Mike Hallas out of Romeo, MI.  I was going to have him do me headstuds and a egr delete.  I am hoping its not the tranny.  If so what is the best choice, rebuild or replace ?  If replace what is a premium tranny ?  I need something good, I haul a large truck camper.  Thanks Once Again.        Timothy 10366  

Timothy10366 Timothy10366
New User | Posts: 7 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 01/27/10
06:14 AM

Sleeper, I also have a question on PSN.  I am having a difficult time navigating it. I wanted to post my tranny problem but couldn't post a new thread.  Is their a tutorial for the website?   Thanks, Timothy 10366  

duners3 duners3
New User | Posts: 22 | Joined: 01/10
Posted: 01/27/10
07:59 PM

I would check your Trans fluid temp sender pid.  If it freaks out the trans will do everthing your talking about. Does your fluid temp guage stay on the cold mark or does it say your overheating?? Both of these concerns can cause the cooling fan to run constatly and take away mpg.  

mball5150 mball5150
New User | Posts: 1 | Joined: 01/10
Posted: 01/29/10
01:35 PM

Is anyone else raising their eyebrows when they see these 20mpg up hills changing speeds postings. There seems to be alot of people that like to BS their mpg or maybe don't know how to use a calculator!  

Timothy10366 Timothy10366
New User | Posts: 7 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 01/30/10
02:22 PM

Sleeper, You were 100% correct.  Trans. sensor.  Mechanic has it right now.  He says he needs to replace both the sensor and the wire harness ?  Is that true ?  Thanks again for your input.  

1 |  2 |  Next   | Last