Diesel Power
1 |  2 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

1986 6.9 won't start ?

c4f5 c4f5
New User | Posts: 3 | Joined: 03/11
Posted: 03/18/11
09:14 AM

This is my first diesel. i work on gassers regularly, but I am no diesel mechanic by any means, but can't afford to hire it done, so it's time to learn. Bought it not running. Mechanical fuel pump was bad. replaced it. Primed it. I know I'm getting fuel to the injectors now, as 5 of the 8 leak. I know all 8 glow plugs are gone. The previous owner set up a tube from the cab to the breather for ether. He let somebody else use it. That's when the fuel pump went out. Appearantly that's not all that went, as it won't start now....not even with either. Cranks fine & sounds normal cranking. Has a sparatic rattle like it wants to take off, but nothing more. Even plugged in the block heater for a day first. The engine was warm to the touch...maybe 110 degrees. Please help.

If all else fails, I will convert it to gas. Anybody know if the 6.9 matches any gasser bell housings, so I can still keep the 6.9 transmission? Thanks.  

tdbt3c tdbt3c
User | Posts: 200 | Joined: 09/08
Posted: 04/04/11
09:58 AM

Convert it to gas!!? That's blasphemy on here! Just kidding.

OK, so you know the glow plugs are bad, but if you're plugged in that should be OK. As long as you are using ether, don't use the glow plugs, as it can cause premature ignition and do some damage.

You know that 5 of 8 injectors are leaking. Replace them. Diesel engines need that proper atomization of the fuel to get good ignition. Injectors are not too bad, I think about $25 a piece for new ones.