Diesel Power
1 |  2 |  3 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

Hummer project = Chevy + Ford parts

H250 H250
Enthusiast | Posts: 303 | Joined: 02/11
Posted: 02/16/11
11:29 PM

I originally posted this thread on the fullsizebronco.com site but i don't want to deal with all the haters! Apparently its highly frowned upon to use Chevy and Ford parts. I am not partial to any auto company. I like American made (like Chevy and Ford).

Hey i am a welder/machinist by trade.
I have always wanted a Humvee but i don't have an extra $75,000.00
I have always liked straight axle vehicles and the Humvee is independent suspension front and rear. I almost purchased a thrashed 94 Humvee (to restore) but the more i researched them the more problems i found with them.
I read a 53 page post about this guy who built a hummer over a ford F150 frame in his garage (H150)
I loved the idea of a Humvee but with the reliability (and ease of finding parts) of a Ford, Chevy or Dodge.
My plans were to go with a Cummins motor and Allison transmission. But i cant afford those right now. As soon as i have the money im dropping a Dana 60 axle in the front as well as a 5.9 cummins and eventually an Allison tranny.This is the reason i have the parts i do now and not the ones i want:
After reading the whole H150 post i decided this is exactly what i wanted to do.
I started looking for a late 80s / early 90s Dodge, Chevy or Ford 3/4 ton. My plan was to start with a fully functioning vehicle.
Then i was going to remove the cab/bed and build a custom hummer body over the top of everything. Buy a hummer hood, tires and build a brush guard for it. That was my original plan.
I have a buddy who was also planning a custom hummer build. He amassed a bunch of different parts:
Ford F250 4x4 gas powered truck minus the motor and drive train
6.2 Detroit Diesel
700r4 tranny
Dana 60 rear
Dana 44 front
And a used rusted-out hummer body KIT+ hood
He had all this stuff rusting away and no time to work on it.