Ad Radar
Diesel Power
Mobile Icon BtnMobile Icon Btn RO
Newsletter

2013 International MaxxForce DT school bus FUEL MILEAGE HELP!!!!!!

Diesel Power
Item Posts    Sort Order

2013 International MaxxForce DT school bus FUEL MILEAGE HELP!!!!!!

Russell22B Russell22B
New User | Posts: 9 | Joined: 11/12
Posted: 11/04/12
11:15 AM

hey everybody im doing this for my dad. he just bought a 2013 international rear engine pusher school bus. well it has the brand new maxxforce dt 260hp motor in it with an allison trans. The problem he is having has nothing to do with power or reliability just fuel mileage. The dealer said that he should be getting between 10-12 mpg. He is consistantly getting 6.3 MPG and nothing he does is helping. Now I am a mechanic but do not work with big diesels and rarely work on light duty trucks with diesels so im clueless here. Confused  i do know however that all this emission crap is killing the diesel industry and this new bus is loaded with it. Mad  so our question to you guys is how in the world can we get better fuel mileage out of this thing? and do it legally without cutting emissions so the bus will still pass our yearly inspections out here on the eastern shore of md. any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!!!  

5toMidnight 5toMidnight
User | Posts: 167 | Joined: 03/12
Posted: 11/04/12
03:25 PM

There is absolutely nothing you can do legally except drive slower and/or put a block of wood under the throttle.  

MarineOne MarineOne
Addict | Posts: 2044 | Joined: 10/08
Posted: 11/05/12
06:21 AM

It's brand new, and until the engine breaks in you're going to get bad mileage.  Once it's broken in, you'll still get bad mileage but it'll be slightly better.

Your best bet will be slow acceleration and keeping it at 55 MPH.

-Kris  

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 QC 5.9L - Smarty CR S-06 on SW #5

2008 Dodge Ram 3500 QC 6.7L - H&S MiniMaxx on DPF tune for towing
Titan Fuel Tank
Aero Muffler 4040XL
Nathan AirChime K3LA

Russell22B Russell22B